Chapter History

Inspired by the increasing population of members of the Fraternity in the Atlanta area, and the opportunity to make a lasting contribution to the growth of our communities, Phi Beta Sigma Sigma (PBSS) Chapter, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. was chartered on January 21, 1996.  The idea of creating another graduate chapter was spearheaded by Brother Michael W. Hines.  PBSS Chapter was founded by a group of Brothers with diverse professional backgrounds in law, medicine, business, education, and government.

Many of the chapter’s charter members were graduates of the Atlanta University Center schools.  The chapter and its members play an active role in the Fraternity at all levels by serving as officers and/or committee members on the state, regional, and international level.


Brother Philippe Jean-Bart
Brother Chadrick P. Betts
Brother Michael W. Hines
Brother Michael Hughes
Brother Terrance Jones (Omega Chapter)
Brother Maddox D. Moore, III
Brother Wayne Plaskett
Brother Lionel Smith
Brother Roderick J. West

Our Vision

After the official charter was granted by Brother Sidney McCray, Southern Regional Director in 1996, the members dedicated themselves to many worthy causes such as Project Open Hand, American Cancer Society Relay for Life, Downtown Dash for Diabetes Walk/Run, Hosea Helps, Atlanta Community Food Bank, Zeta Phi Beta’s Storks Nest Blitz Project, The Locke Scholarship Awards program, AIDS Walk Atlanta, The Learning Club @ Fulton County Juvenile Justice Center, Project Vote, Financial Awareness, IRS and Atlanta Prosperity Campaign VITA Partnership, Salvation Army Clothing Drive for Men, Sickle Cell Foundation, March of Dimes – for Babies, and National Bone Marrow program just to name a few.  Simply stated, the chapter’s support of programs based on the ideas of brotherhood, scholarship, and service is the epitome of an organization that all humanity can use to realize their tactical and strategic dreams.  These dreams include serving humanity with unlimited talents and resources to foster our community’s continued progress.  Dreams of a world that is socially and politically astute to improve our communities with:

  • quality education for all citizens
  • service to mankind
  • financial empowerment through education and investment
  • political consciousness
  • strategic plans to eliminate the technology disparity
  • personal responsibility beyond reproach

Collegiate Chapters

The chapter serves as the graduate advisor to several colligate chapters in the metro-area including Psi Chapter at Clark Atlanta University, and Rho Alpha Chapter at DeVry University. The Brothers of the chapter have worked diligently to re-activate and support many of the metro-area collegiate chapters. Additionally, PBSS has strived to improve our relationship with the collegiate chapters by helping them increase membership, become distinguished black male role models, and demonstrate continued academic excellence.


The chapter has increased its membership by recruiting inactive Brothers and Membership In-Take Process (MIP) classes. Honorable Founder, Dr. Leonard F. Morse’s grandson (Ward Morse) successfully completed the chapter’s Membership In-Take Process in the spring of 2004.

Alumni Brother of the Year Awards

The chapter created the Alumni and Collegiate Brother of the Year Awards in 2000. This award is presented to the brother in the alumni and the brother in a collegiate chapter who has upheld the principles of the Fraternity and has a stellar record of work and service to their respective chapter. This is the chapter’s highest award that is given to brothers within the Fraternity.

Alumni Brother of the Year Awards Recipients

Robert Eason                          2001

Lyric Cosby                             2002

Ado Ellzey                               2003

Willie Swain                            2004

Ado Ellzey                               2005

Andrew Lofton                        2006

Ted Mills                                  2007

Korega Zachery                      2008

LaSella Hall                             2009

James Pitts                             2010

Clayton Ollarvia                      2011

Jeffrey Dickey                        2012

James Jones                           2013

Xachery Robinson                  2014


Ennis Usher                            2015

Tyrone Turner                         2017

Collegiate Brother of the Year Awards Recipients






William Brooks                        2005

Issac Ricard                            2006

Issac Ricard                            2007

Christopher R.                        2008

Domanie Barber                     2009

Kolbey Gardner                      2010

Derrick Vaughn                       2011

No selection                            2012

No selection                            2013

No selection                            2014

Awards and Accolades

State of Georgia

Phi Beta Sigma Sigma Chapter received the following awards at the 2012 Georgia State Conference, Atlanta, GA

  • Collegiate Chapter Advisor of the Year                                    Dr. Michael Hines
  • Sigma Beta Club of the Year                                                    PBSS Chapter
  • Education Award Honorable Mention Award                            PBSS Chapter
  • Bigger and Better Business Honorable Mention Award            PBSS Chapter
  • State of Georgia Sigma of the Year                                          LaSella Hall
  • R.O. Sutton Award                                                                   James D. Stark
  • State Conference Planning/Support Award                              PBSS Chapter
  • Conference Chair Achievement Award                                    James D. Stark
  • Outstanding Sigma of the Southern Region (Georgia)            Ado Ellzey

Southern Region

  • PBSS Chapter received the 2007 Southern Region Model Chapter of the Year Award
  • PBSS Chapter received the 2011 Southern Region Model Chapter of the Year Award


  • PBSS Chapter was selected to display at Conclave Charlotte 2007 representing the Southern Region
  • Nominated as Model Chapter of the Year


Phi Beta Sigma Sigma Chapter received the 2012 Internal Partner Award from Kappa Iota Zeta Chapter, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. at the sorority’s 2012 Hall of Fame Awards Gala.

Locke Scholarship Awards

The Locke Scholarship was the results of many years of planning by the brothers of Phi Beta Sigma Sigma Chapter. The first meeting of the scholarship committee (name not formerly presented) was held at the Fulton County Juvenile Justice Center. Brothers in attendance were: Garrick White, Willie Swain, Ado Ellzey, and Douglas Hickman. The scholarship awards were named The Locke Scholarship Awards as recommended by Brother Ado Ellzey to honor Dr. Alain L. Locke, 1st Black Rhodes Scholar and a Distinguished Member of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc.

The first awards were given in 2009 along with a dinner hosted by PBSS Chapter and the Sigma Education Advancement Foundation (SEAF), Inc. 501 (c ) 3. Three academically talented students were awarded scholarship that year.

Recipients                                                                              Speaker                                  Year

                                                                                                Daniel J. Tann, Esq                2009

Jon Qua Brazmore                                                                 Daniel J. Tann, Esq                2010


Chandra Dickey                                                                      Jonathan A. Mason                 2011

Phi Beta Sigma Sigma Chapter of Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Incorporated. | site by: | EmailLOGIN